On Elections

How people elect parliaments

Western Australia

Legislative Assembly

Specific Elections: 2001 – 2005 – 2008 – 2013 – 2017


Victoria has a bicameral Parliament with the lower house being the Legislative Assembly, an assembly of 57 members.

The boundaries of the Legislative Assembly electoral divisions are reviewed regularly by an independent commission.

Terms of the Legislative Assembly are legislatively fixed at four years.

All the members of the Legislative Assembly are directly elected in single member divisions by the preferential voting method.

Commentary and analysis



[recent redistricting]

Inequality in the effective influence of voters caused by variations in Legislative Assembly division enrolments has been moderate in recent elections. Unlike those of other Australian state lower houses, the WA system still retains a distinct weighting in favour of a small number of rural and remote electorate divisions. The most recent standard deviation of variations compared to the mean enrolment being 12.0% in 2017.

[nomination openness – party configurations]

[summary of results]

[inequality by margins]

Specific elections

2001 – 2005 – 2008 – 2013 – 2017



[data source – data completeness – anomalous contests – augmentation]


[Dataset not yet published]

  • OnElections election data AU-WA-2001-2017.xls
%d bloggers like this: