On Elections

How people elect parliaments

South Australia

House of Assembly

Specific Elections: 2002 – 2006 – 2010 – 2014 – 2018


Victoria has a bicameral Parliament with the lower house being the House of Assembly, an assembly of 47 members.

The boundaries of the House of Assembly electoral divisions are reviewed regularly by an independent commission.

Terms of the House Assembly are legislatively fixed at four years.

All the members of the House of Assembly are directly elected in single member divisions by the preferential voting method.

Commentary and analysis



[recent redistricting]

Inequality in the effective influence of voters caused by variations in Legislative Assembly riding enrolments has been low in recent elections, with the most recent standard deviation of variations compared to the mean enrolment being 6.1% in 2017.

[nomination openness – party configurations]

[summary of results]

[inequality by margins]

Specific elections

2002 – 2006 – 2010 – 2014 – 2018



[data source – data completeness – anomalous contests – augmentation]


[Dataset not yet published]

  • OnElections election data AU-SA-2002-2018.xls
%d bloggers like this: