On Elections

How people elect parliaments


House of Assembly



Tasmania has a bicameral Parliament of which the lower house is the House of Assembly, an assembly of 25 members.

Responsible government, and the elected House of Assembly, were established in the then colony in 1856. Tasmania was the first parliamentary jurisdiction in the world to adopt the single transferable vote (STV) voting method, initially trialling the approach in Hobart and Launceston in 1899 before adopting it statewide and permanently from 1906.

House of Assembly members are directly elected in 5 electoral divisions each electing 5 members by the STV method, with features including the use of Robson Rotation of ballot papers and the inclusive Gregory method of surplus distribution. From 1906 the numbers of members in each division was initially six, but this was increased in 1959 to seven, and then decreased in 1998 to five.

Terms are up to four years.

Tasmania has the representative parliamentary system of government, in which nominal executive authority is vested in the Queen and exercised by the state Governor. However, actual executive power is exercised by the Premier on the basis of the continuing confidence of a majority in the House of Assembly.




[Inequality in the effective influence of voters caused by variations in xxx division enrolments]

[nomination openness – party configurations]

[summary of results]

[Inequality in the effective influence of voters caused by variations in division turnouts (formal votes)]

[inequality by margins]

Specific elections

2002 – 2006 – 2010 – 2014 – 2018




[data source – data completeness – anomalous contests]


[Datasets are not yet published]

  • Tasmanian election results 2002-14


%d bloggers like this: